Tuesday, October 28, 2008

PBB Never Bullied PRS, Says Abang Johary

KUCHING, Oct 28 (Bernama) -- Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) has denied claims that it had bullied smaller Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties in the state.

Commenting on a statement by Baleh Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) publicity chief Beginda Minda that the party was a bully, PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg said the party had never taken advantage of the situation when PRS was going through internal crisis.

Johari said that PBB, as the backbone of the state BN, had in fact offered assistance to prevent serious split in PRS.

"If another party has a problem, we help the party. If we don't, the whole BN coalition will be affected. The question of bullying does not arise," he told reporters after visiting the PPR Taman Sepakat Jaya in Demak Laut.

"Don't just parrot what others say about one party bullying another," he added.

Malaysiakini news portal on Saturday quoted Beginda as saying that Umno at the federal level and PBB in Sarawak were "too dominant" and indeed were "bullies" in their dealings with smaller component parties.

Read here
Dari Malaysiakini
PRS: Umno is a bully, so is PBB
Oct 25, 08 9:09am
A Parti Rakyat Sarawak division leader wants Umno and PBB to stop thinking ‘dominance’ and start thinking of allowing other BN parties to run their own shows. If not, PRS has other options, he warns.
- Proofs of dominance and bullying
- Wake up to political realities

and this too :
Mengulas Malaysiakini: Umno is a bully

Meanwhile, Sarawak United People's Party (SUPP) president Tan Sri Dr George Chan also dismissed claims of bullying by PBB.

"Everyone is entitled to his opinion, and no, I have never been bullied," he said, adding that PBB were the dominant party because it had more members.

Meanwhile, PRS president Datuk Seri Dr James Jemut Masing said that Beginda's statement was not the party's stand.

He told the local media that he would impose a gag order on the matter soon.

Sarawak BN has four component parties namely PBB, SUPP, PRS and Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP).